Photo by Sharon McCutcheon from Pexels
in

7 Timeless Transgender Books That Fight For Acceptance

Society is still a far way from tolerance and acceptance of the vulnerable transgender population. These are the books that lead the fight.

We’ve collected the 7 books that define the transgender topic. They’re all major breakthroughs in their own right, but we respect “Paul to Paula” as the most valuable book on the transgender issue.
These books read like butter and as well as begin gripping, they teach you things you thought you knew already. If you believe education is the path to an accepting and encouraging society, these books should be read by everyone – friends, family, work colleagues. This is our the message spreads and why books are still a powerful tool in our society.

#1 What Becomes You by Aaron Raz Linkn and Hilda Raz

I recommend this book for its dual perspectives: from child and mother. In this format, not only does the reader experience what Aaron’s transition was like, but how his mother was affected, in her voice. Consequently, we get a deeper understanding of the challenges and surprising support mechanisms for transgender folx.

Prices across many e-commerce websites may vary, be sure to compare to get the best deal:


#2 The GayBCs by M. L. Webb

This is the perfect book to give kids an understanding of an inclusive spectrum of identity, including transgender.

A playdate extravaganza transforms into a celebration of friendship, love, and identity as four friends sashay out of all the closets, dress up in a wardrobe fit for kings and queens, and discover the wonder of imagination. From A is for Ally to F is for Family to Q is for Queer, debut author/illustrator M. L. Webb’s bright illustrations and lively, inclusive poems delight in the beauty of embracing one’s truest self. A glossary in the back offers opportunity for further discussion of terms and identities. The GayBCs is perfect for fans of A Is for Activist and Feminist Baby—showing kids and adults alike that every identity is worthy of being celebrated.

Prices across many e-commerce websites may vary, be sure to compare to get the best deal:


#3 Sam the Transformer by K. J Armstrong

Sam knew she was not quite the same as the other girls, and she was not sure why. Sam has always felt like she doesn’t quite fit. She doesn’t like dresses and their swish-swish on her legs; she doesn’t like playing with dolls either, and she’d much rather climb on the jungle gym with the boys during her lunch. Although she’s not sure why she’s different, she knows that she is. Then one day Sam learns something that completely transforms her world…

Prices across many e-commerce websites may vary, be sure to compare to get the best deal:


#4 Paul to Paula by Paul Travers

Growing up is difficult when you’re a young boy trying to navigate the perils of life. It is even more difficult when your childhood has been riddled with mental, physical and sexual abuse. From Paul to Paula — the story of a Teenage T-Girl follows the life of a young boy named Paul who has never seen even a glimmer of love. It is through his yearning for love and understanding that he soon discovers that the secret to his happiness, and to the life he wishes to live, can be found in the unlikeliest of places. Young Paul soon learns that with a little help from his friends, he can go a long way and live the life he wants to live; a life where he is known as Paula rather than Paul. This is the story of a young boy who, in the face of the greatest of adversaries, discovers that the power of love transcends all.

Prices across many e-commerce websites may vary, be sure to compare to get the best deal:


#5 Ambisexuality by James Watson

Ambisexuals are men who are erotically attracted to ‘women with a penis’. Michael simply smiled and said, I’ve never been with a man. For me, a trans woman is a woman with masculine genitals, but she is still a woman. She looks like a woman and she acts like a woman. It’s the 21st century. Trans women sex workers go to great lengths to meet these needs. Tens of thousands of men like Michael currently live around the world.

You might think this is a modern development made possible by sex-change technology.. But meticulous research reveals that this unrecognised sexual orientation has persisted across all major cultures throughout recorded history. In spite of this, almost nothing is known about ambisexuality. What motivates their sexual orientation… and the trans women they are drawn to? This book has fascinating anecdotal stories and hard data which leads to deep insights. It will make you re-evaluate what you think you know about human sexuality in an era of growing acceptance of gender diversity and sexual expression.

Prices across many e-commerce websites may vary, be sure to compare to get the best deal:


#6 Tainted Beauty by Yvy DeLuca

Yvy grew up believing in who she was, but what she didn’t know was how to live her truth. Trapped in a body that presented as male, Yvy had no choice but to take on life’s obstacles whilst attempting to desperately find the answer to living her truth. And so her journey begins.

Yvy embarked towards uncharted territory, knowing that she would inevitably reach her truth and live as an authentic creation. But what she wasn’t prepared for was the lessons she would learn along the way. Lessons that would shape her gender identity and give her the confidence to be unapologetic when it comes to being who she was born to be. Tainted Beauty is a heartfelt, sexy and hilarious no-holds-barred look into the life of a woman who isn’t afraid to tell it like it is.

Prices across many e-commerce websites may vary, be sure to compare to get the best deal:


#7 Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Trans by Brynn Tannehill

This book includes all the questions about trans that you’ve been longing to know but have been too afraid to ask. Breaking down a multitude of misconceptions regarding the trans community, Tannehill gives insightful and enlightening answers to some truly controversial yet highly relevant questions of our society. Equality begins with awareness and this book aims to provide just that.

Prices across many e-commerce websites may vary, be sure to compare to get the best deal:


Contributors to this article
Kate Mura from KateMura

Matt Webb from M.L. Webb.

Janine Hornsby from Austin Macauley Publishers

Adina Mahalli from EnlightenedReality

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Loading…

0

What do you think?

Image by Igor Link from Pixabay

The Evolution of Pink Collar Jobs and the Blurring of Gender Stereotypes

header-cup-of-tea

The Benefits of Tea for Women